Happy Fathers Day

Posted: June 19, 2011 in growing stronger, tough times

So today is fathers day and it’s one of those days that are hard for me but as the years go on I try and deal with it that little bit different. Today is the 9th fathers day without my dad, so things have changed drastically in the way I deal with it. For the first few years I
was so young that I didn’t know what to do and my mum never spoke about my dad and still doesn’t. I then started dwelling on the fact that I couldn’t spend time with my dad and be like all the other kids and this resulted in me doing daft things.

I then got my social worker and she helped me to start dealing with things a lot better. I got my social worker when I was in 4th year at school so it was 6 years after my dad had passed away and this was the first real time I had dealt with it. For me it was massive and it was like letting six years of hurt out at the same time. I thank my social worker for what she did for me as this was the start of the new me.

For the last couple of years I have tried to celebrate my dads life rather than mourn over his loss. I have set balloons off in his memory and spent time reflecting on the good times. Today however seems to have been a bit different I was at work and so many people were buying cards and presents and talking about what they were going to be doing with their dads. This hit me hard and made me realise what I’m missing out on but I’m going spend some time later on just reflecting on the good things and thinking about my dad on general whilst in our special place.

Happy Fathers day dad. I love and miss you. Thinking of you today and everyday.

Bye for now šŸ™‚

20110619-064420.jpg
my dad^

Leave a Reply

