Needing comfort

Posted: October 26, 2011 in self help, tough times

20111027-122159 AM.jpg

Over the last few days I have been thinking about things I do in place of self harm. It was a massive part in my life and I had to replace it with something. It was my. Comfort blanket, my safety net from the world.

I set up several things in its place and one of these things was a safe box. Not many people understand what I mean by a safe box but it’s just a box full of things that relate to happy memories. Mine have all sorts of things in them and I use them anytime I’m having a down day.

I have three safe boxes and each contain different things and are kept in different places. I have them in different places so that if I’m struggling I can get to one easily. I constantly add to them and put in things that relate to something that makes me happy.

The picture above is of one of my safe boxes and as you can see it is full of random things. It has many things that help me through and that people would just think are rubbish. I have set them out in the picture so that you can see most of them.

In this particular box I have a sweatband, this was used to cover scars on my wrist that people might see if my top was to move slightly. This gives me comfort knowing that I no longer need to use this. It wasn’t my only sweatband but was one that I used more frequently. Often I would have to use two at a time. I also have a picture of my dad, this brings me comfort by bringing back memories of the time I had with him.

There is also a stress squirrel which was given to me by a guidance teacher at my school. As you can tell from the picture he has been used quite a lot and helped me through quite a bit. Again this wasn’t my only stress toy I have tonnes of them but this was one I used often. In there is also a sharpener, you may be wondering what this has to do with anything. Well I used to use sharpener blades to cut my self quite frequently and this sharpener has no blade in it I took it out before putting it in my safe box. The reason I took the blade out was so that I wasn’t tempted to use it. I now just hold the plastic casing in my hand and shake it to hear the screw move about inside. This helps me think about how I used to feel when I cut.

I have several pieces of jewellery in this box and each piece means something special to me. I have a ring my dad gave me, a bracelet I got for achieving something, a brooch my grandma gave me and told me would protect me and a necklace my grandma that passed away gave me. I want to tell you a bit about why I have put in the necklace from my grandma. She gave it to me just a few months before she passed away. It was in a black pouch and I only took it out once before she passed away. After her passing I took it out of its bag and noticed that a stone was missing that was there the first time I looked at it. In my head I made a connection with this to my grandmas passing. That little stone missing out of that heart is just like the piece of my heart that went missing the day she passed. So to me that little stone represents my grandma and the love I have for her.

I also have a few other items in there. These are a pen I got from my work experience I did through school, coloured beads that each have a meaning, a bangle from a place where I received support and that has symbols with a meaning and a bobble from my fifth year prom. These are all things that help me cope and each box has random items all with a meaning. Without my safe boxes I don’t know where I would be.

If your having a tough time why not try making a safe box and filling it with your happy memories. You never know it might just help. šŸ™‚

Bye for now šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

