Awareness

Posted: September 10, 2012 in Uncategorized

Today is national Suicide Awareness Day, this day is used to think of any one who has tried to commit suicide or has taken their own life. Also the family and friends of these people. 

This September marks 5 years since I attempted to take my life and so today I wore yellow (the awareness colour) and wrote the word love on my wrist, this is not only for the people who have attempted but on a more personal level my family. The stress and worry I put them through was horrible and I am now very grateful that I have my second chance and made something of my life.

My family may have been put through hell before but I think i have now started to make them proud.

If you have attempted to take your life or have been thinking about it, there is help out there and you can get through this. it may be hard at first and people will ask questions that you may not have answers for but one day you will have an answer and you will feel good about your life again. 

If you are a family member or friend who has been affected by suicide in any way, i feel for you. I know what my family went through and I wouldn’t wish that on anyone. 

I hope people are more aware of suicide and can openly talk about it and be educated properly. People missed vital signs with me and I know I’m not the only case where this is the case. 

Be aware and talk about it.

Image

Leave a Reply

